kai strobel

Kai Strobel, 1st place winner and recipient of the audience award at the 68th ARD Music Competition 2019 and winner of the 2018 TROMP Percussion Competition in Eindhoven, ranks among the most promising percussionists of his generation.

As a soloist, he has performed with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Hanseatic City of Lübeck, the Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, the Asko|Schönberg Orchestra, the Musicum Collegium Basel and the St. Petersburg State Capella Symphony Orchestra, among others.He is a scholarship recipient of the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and the German Music Competition, and an honoree of the Mozarteum International Summer Academy.As a lecturer and soloist, Kai Strobel regularly appears as a guest at music festivals in France, Croatia, the Netherlands, Poland, the Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, Italy, Russia, USA, Portugal, Hungary and Germany.

Kai received his first lessons from Marta Klimasara in Stuttgart. Since 2012, Kai Strobel has studied percussion at the Anton Bruckner Private University in Linz under Leonhard Schmidinger and Bogdan Bacanu. In addition to his solo career, Kai Strobel is looking to explore and expand further the possibilities of using percussion instruments in his chamber music groups, such as the Boum-Percussion Ensemble and the PinedaBraussStrobel Trio, for which he also regularly writes arrangements. In doing so, he aims to broaden the percussion repertoire with works by great composers. Kai takes inspiration from their ideas as well as from the developments which instruments have undergone. His arrangements of works by Claude Debussy have already been published. Kai Strobel is an endorser of the Dutch instrument maker Adams Musical Instruments, Zultan Cymbals and Meinl Percussion.

marc strobel

Marc Strobel is a Percussionist, Composer and Creative Director. As of the 2016/2017 season Marc holds tenure as a member of the the Stuttgart State Orchestra, the official orchestra to the Opera Stuttgart and Stuttgart Ballet. Marc completed his studies in Classical Percussion at the State Universities for Music in Trossingen, Germany under the mentorship of Professor Franz Lang et al. and is a laureate of national and international competitions for both percussion and marimba.Marc was contracted by various German symphony and opera orchestras, including the SWR (Southwest German Radio) Baden-Baden and Freiburg Symphony Orchestra, Saarland State Theater Orchestra and the Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra (Frankfurt/Main). As a scholarship holder of the Staatskapelle Orchestra Academy at the Berlin State Opera, he has performed under the baton of renowned conductors such as Daniel Barenboim and Sir Simon Rattle. On multiple occasions Marc has been selected as both timpanist and percussionist for the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival Orchestra where noteworthy performances included concerts in the Salzburg Festival. As a soloist, he has made appearances with the SWR Baden- Baden and Freiburg Symphony Orchestra under the direction of François-Xavier Roth, as well as with the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra under the direction of Kent Nagano. Besides performances in Europe, concert tours led him to the U.S., Arabia and Africa.

Marc Strobel has been lecturer at the Boum-Percussion Academy and German National Academic Foundation Music Academy instructing talented youths, university students and ambitious amateurs.As composer Marc Strobel develops music- and soundconcepts in view of brand sustainability in the fields of design, fashion and technology. Besides film compositions he creates ballet music in close working relation with choreographers and dancers including the Stuttgart Ballet, Gauthier Dance Company and the Saarland State Ballet, focusing on the synthesis of percussion, electronics and dance. His ballet music has been performed in Theaters in Germany, Austria, Cyprus, Slovenia and Russia, amongst others.

boum-percussion

...emerged from the desire of the brothers Kai & Marc Strobel to consider percussion beyond its classical-western understanding in a more holistic view. The ensemble formed its unique musical voice by combining electroacoustic music with ordinary objects and conventional instruments. Boum-Percussion is both laboratory for new sounds and a platform for the various concert- and performance formats. The range varies from concerts by the Boum-Percussion Group, including several percussionists, to solo performances and collaborations with artists from other disciplines. Furthermore, the brothers Kai & Marc Strobel's concern is the support of talented young drummers: music educational formats, children's concerts, and the "Boum-Percussion Academy" in Stuttgart. They regularly attend music universities and music festivals in Italy, Austria, Croatia, Portugal, Cyprus, Netherlands, the United States, and many more. Boum-Percussion is an endorser of Meinl-Percussion and Adams-Musical Instruments.


[buhm] - an onomatopoetic expression of an impact in the literal sense and the sustainability of its experience. The subtle change of sound between the vowels "o" and "u" describes the complexity of a seemingly simple event.

kai strobel

Kai Strobel, 1. Preisträger des 68. Int. ARD Musik-Wettbewerb 2019, Gewinner des Publikumspreises und Gewinner des 1. Preis des TROMP Percussion Competition Eindhoven 2018 zählt zu den vielversprechenden Schlagwerkern seiner Generation.

Als Solist trat er unter anderem mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, den Lübecker Philharmonikern, der Württembergischen Philharmonie Reutlingen, dem Asko-Schönberg Orchester, dem Musicum Collegium Basel und dem Orchester der Staatskapelle St. Petersburg auf. Er ist Stipendiat der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben und des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs, sowie Laureat der Sommerakademie Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. Seit 2021 ist Kai Gastprofessor am Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester. Als Dozent und Solist gastiert Kai Strobel regelmäßig auf Musikfestivals in Frankreich, Kroatien, den Niederlanden, Polen, Tschechien, Österreich, Schweiz, Italien, Russland, USA, Portugal, Ungarn und in Deutschland.

Neben seiner solistischen Laufbahn ist Kai stetig darauf aus, die Möglichkeiten und Einsetzbarkeit des Schlagwerks durch seine Kammermusik-Formationen wie dem Boum-Percussion Ensemble oder dem PinedaBraussStrobel Trio weiter auszubauen. Durch Arrangieren für seine Ensembles erweitert Kai nicht nur die Schlagwerk Literatur, vielmehr bezieht er den musikalisch-historischen Hintergrund von Komponisten und die Tonsprache älterer Instrumente in seine Arrangements ein und zeigt damit einmal mehr die vielschichtigen Möglichkeiten des Schlagwerks auf. Seine Arrangements von Werken Claude Debussy’s wurden bereits erfolgreich verlegt. Kai erhielt seinen ersten Unterricht bei Marta Klimasara in Stuttgart. Ab 2012 studierte Kai Strobel Schlagwerk an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz bei Leonhard Schmidinger und Bogdan Bacanu. Kai ist Endorser des holländischen Instrumentenbauers Adams Musical Instruments, Meinl Percussion, und Zultan Cymbals.

marc strobel

Marc Strobel ist Schlagzeuger, Komponist und Creative Director. Seit der Spielzeit 2016/17 ist er festes Mitglied beim Staatsorchester Stuttgart – dem Orchester der Oper Stuttgart und des Stuttgarter Balletts. Er ist Preisträger nationaler wie internationaler Schlagwerk- und Marimba-Wettbewerbe. Bereits vor dem Studienabschluss bei Prof. Franz Lang, an der Musikhochschule Trossingen, erhielt er Verträge in etlichen deutschen Sinfonie- und Opernorchestern. So etwa beim SWR-Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, dem Saarländischen Staatsorchester und dem Opern- und Museumsorchester Frankfurt (a.M.). An der Berliner Staatsoper war Strobel Stipendiat der Orchesterakademie der Staatskapelle Berlin und spielte schon früh unter namhaften Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim und Sir Simon Rattle. Mehrmals wurde er als Pauker und Schlagzeuger ins Orchester des Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival berufen, mit Konzerten u.a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Solistisch konzertierte er mit dem SWR-Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden & Freiburg unter François-Xavier Roth, sowie dem Philharmonischen Staatsorchester Hamburg unter Kent Nagano.Konzerttourneen und regelmäßige Gastspiele führen ihn ins europäische Ausland, in die USA, nach Arabien und Afrika.

Als Dozent in Masterclasses und Workshops, wie der Boum-Percussion Academy und der Musikakademie der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, gibt er sein Wissen an Nachwuchsmusiker*innen, Studierende und ambitionierte Laien weiter. Als Komponist entwickelt Marc Strobel Musik- und Soundkonzepte im Hinblick auf Sustainabilty für Brands in den Bereichen Design, Mode und Technologie. Neben Film-Komposition kreiert Strobel vor allem Ballettmusiken in engem Austausch mit ChoreographInnen und TänzerInnen, wie dem Stuttgarter Ballett, der Gauthier Dance Company und dem Saarländischen Staatsballett. Dabei liegt sein Hauptaugenmerk auf der Synthese von Schlagwerk, Elektronik und Tanz. Seine Ballettmusiken wurden in Theatern in u.a. Deutschland, Österreich, Russland, Slowenien und Zypern aufgeführt.

boum-percussion

…ist aus dem Bestreben der Brüder Kai & Marc Strobel entstanden, das Schlagwerk über das klassisch-westliche Musikverständnis hinaus ganzheitlich zu betrachten. Insbesondere durch die Verbindung von elektro-akustischer Musik, gewöhnlichen Gegenständen und herkömmlichen Instrumenten entwickelte sich über die Jahre eine eigene Tonsprache. Boum-Percussion ist sowohl Laboratorium zur Findung von neuen Klängen, als auch Plattform verschiedener Performance-Formate. Von Konzerten der Boum-Percussion Group mit mehreren Schlagwerker*innen, über Solo- Performances, bis hin zu Kollaborationen mit Künstler*innen anderer Kunst-Sparten. Ein besonderes Anliegen der Brüder Kai & Marc Strobel ist die Förderung des talentierten Schlagzeuger*innen-Nachwuchs. Neben musikvermittelnden Formaten, Kinderkonzerten und der “Boum-Percussion Academy” in Stuttgart, sind sie regelmäßig als Dozenten an Musikhochschulen und Festivals in Italien, Österreich, Kroatien, Portugal, Zypern, Holland, den USA, uvm. zu Gast. Boum-Percussion ist Endorser der Firmen Meinl-Percussion und Adams-Musical Instruments.


[buhm] ist lautmalerischer Ausdruck eines Impact sowohl im wörtlichen Sinne, eines nachdrücklichen Geräuschs, als auch im Hinblick auf die Nachhaltigkeit dieses Erlebnis‘. Die subtile Klangveränderung zwischen den Vokalen „o“ und „u“ beschreibt die Vielschichtigkeit eines zunächst simpel erscheinenden Ereignisses.